Transforming Tourism Conference


The Future of Destination


Dominican Republic

Large Arrow

Title

Transforming Tourism – Destinations for Future

Date

26. – 27. October 2022 from 9:30 a.m. until 5:15 p.m.

Location

Iberostar complex, arr. El Macao – Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic


By invitation only!

Background

Tourism is an essential driver for economies, local livelihood and showcasing natural and cultural heritage. Prior to the Covid-19 pandemic, the sector accounted for over 10% of global GDP and 10% of jobs worldwide with international tourist arrivals predicted to rise from 1.1 billion in 2014 to 1.8 billion in 2030 (UNWTO).

With the tourism sector recovering from the pandemic, there is an opportunity for the public and private sector and civil society to accelerate the transformation of the sector’s future towards a more resilient, sustainable and inclusive industry. The pandemic has highlighted the link between human health risk, biodiversity and the economic system, underscoring the need to simultaneously boost resilience and sustainability of the tourism sector in response to the triple planetary crisis of climate change, biodiversity loss, and pollution to ensure prosperity for all. A recent international study also suggests that ‘the pandemic has been the tipping point for travelers to finally commit to their own sustainable journey’, and increasingly tourism actors commit, measure and report on their sustainability actions. Some online travel agencies also have started to provide sustainability information to their customers to make sustainable travel choices easier.

Ein Strand in der dominikanischen Republik mit Palmen und Meer

However, the need to scale up climate and biodiversity action and investment dramatically remains urgent in the sector as emissions could rapidly rebound and pressure on nature increase once operations restart fully.  At the same time, the tourism sector is highly vulnerable to climate change, biodiversity loss and pollution, including extreme weather events, damages to assets, and there is an increasing insurance cost and safety concerns by public and private stakeholders.

The travel and tourism sector has thus a big role to play in decarbonization and can help accelerate the transition to low-emissions and circular business solutions, creating new opportunities in energy generation, reduce transport emissions, and integrate nature-based solutions into tourism activities and operations. If the sector can move rapidly away from carbon- and material-intensive ways of delivering visitor experiences and adapt to new sustainable tourism consumer trends and environmental risks, if community and ecosystem wellbeing will be prioritised, then tourism can be a leader in the transition to a low-carbon and sustainable future.

SAVE THE DATE

It is in this context that the Conference is organized on the 26 and 27 October 2022 by UNEP and TourCert and with the support of the German government as part of the International Climate Change Initiative project Transforming Tourism Value Chains in Developing Countries and SIDS to accelerate more resource efficient, low carbon development ”and the Austrian Development Agency as part of the project „Transforming Tourism“ – Protecting biodiversity and increasing local value creation by promoting sustainable tourism development in the Dominican Republic and Costa Rica”.

The conference provides the opportunity for experts and leaders from the public and private sector, and other relevant stakeholders to learn about trends, opportunities, and challenges in tourism destinations, share best practices, and identify priorities to advance sustainable tourism in a changing environment. It is also an opportunity to strengthen existing partnerships, build new ones, and enjoy face to face interactions.

The two days conference is followed by an ‘After Conference Tour’ to Samanà, one of the project regions, on 28 and 29 October 2022 to showcase successful sustainable tourism practices.

Themes to be addressed

The conference will focus on five main themes:

  • Governance of Destinations:
    Exploring cross-sector multi-level transformation and governance approaches leading to destinations to live in harmony with nature benefiting residents, value chain businesses, community, and travellers.
  • Finance:
    Identifying potential sources of finance, and related marketing and incentives programmes, and exploring innovative finance mechanisms to increase funding for the sector, including for SMEs.
  • Sustainable Food Systems:
    Showcasing sustainable food systems, including gastronomy  as catalysts for developing sustainable value  chains and exploring circularity, sustainable procurement approaches to optimise resource use, and build and protect human and social capital.
  • Linking Biodiversity, Climate Change, and Pollution:
    Discussing the alignment of tourism with climate, biodiversity and pollution strategies, best practices in calculation methodologies, tools, standards and certification mechanisms to support tourism stakeholders in implementing effective biodiversity and climate action in a pollution free planet.
  • Leaving no one behind:
    Showcasing the contribution of tourism to prosperity, the inclusion of vulnerable groups, as well as discussing gender responsive, and human rights action in tourism, community empowerment and capacity building opportunities at local level, and supporting growth and sustainability of micro-businesses.

 

Innovation and digitalization are seen as cross-cutting topics in all themes.

Do you still have questions?

We will be happy to help you with your questions. Just get in touch with us.

Vivien Multrus

Junior Project Managerin

vivien.multrus@tourcert.org

+49 711 24839726

esende

Transforming Tourism Konferenz


The Future of Destination


Dominikanische Republik

Large Arrow

Titel

Transforming Tourism – Destinations for Future

Wann?

26. – 27. Oktober 2022 von 9:30 bis 17:15 Uhr

Wo?

Iberostar complex, arr. El Macao – Arena Gorda,
Punta Cana 23000, Dominikanische Republik


Nur auf Einladung!

Hintergrund

Der Tourismus ist eine wichtige Triebkraft für die Wirtschaft, den lokalen Lebensunterhalt und die Erhaltung des natürlichen und kulturellen Erbes. Vor der Covid-19-Pandemie machte der Sektor über 10 % des globalen BIP und 10 % der Arbeitsplätze weltweit aus, und die Zahl der internationalen Touristenankünfte wird voraussichtlich von 1,1 Milliarden im Jahr 2014 auf 1,8 Milliarden im Jahr 2030 steigen (UNWTO).

Jetzt, da sich der Tourismussektor von der Pandemie erholt hat, bietet sich für den öffentlichen und privaten Sektor sowie für die Zivilgesellschaft die Gelegenheit, den Wandel des Sektors hin zu einer widerstandsfähigeren, nachhaltigeren und integrativeren Branche zu beschleunigen. Die Pandemie hat die Verbindung zwischen dem Gesundheitsrisiko für den Menschen, der biologischen Vielfalt und dem Wirtschaftssystem deutlich gemacht und die Notwendigkeit unterstrichen, gleichzeitig die Widerstandsfähigkeit und Nachhaltigkeit des Tourismussektors als Reaktion auf die dreifache planetarische Krise des Klimawandels, des Verlusts der biologischen Vielfalt und der Umweltverschmutzung zu stärken, um Wohlstand für alle zu gewährleisten. Eine kürzlich durchgeführte internationale Studie deutet darauf hin, dass „die Pandemie der Wendepunkt für Reisende war, sich endlich zu ihrer eigenen nachhaltigen Reise zu verpflichten“, und dass sich die Tourismusakteur*innen zunehmend verpflichten, ihre Nachhaltigkeitsmaßnahmen zu messen und darüber zu berichten. Einige Online-Reisebüros haben ebenfalls damit begonnen, ihren Kund*innen Informationen zur Nachhaltigkeit zur Verfügung zu stellen, um ihnen die Entscheidung für eine nachhaltige Reise zu erleichtern.

Ein Strand in der dominikanischen Republik mit Palmen und Meer

Es ist jedoch nach wie vor dringend erforderlich, die Maßnahmen und Investitionen in den Bereichen Klima und biologische Vielfalt drastisch zu erhöhen, da die Emissionen schnell wieder ansteigen und der Druck auf die Natur zunehmen könnte, sobald der Betrieb wieder voll aufgenommen wird. Gleichzeitig ist der Tourismussektor sehr anfällig für den Klimawandel, den Verlust der biologischen Vielfalt und die Umweltverschmutzung, einschließlich extremer Wetterereignisse und der Beschädigung von Vermögenswerten. Zudem gibt es steigende Versicherungskosten und Sicherheitsbedenken bei öffentlichen und privaten Akteur*innen.

Der Reise- und Tourismussektor spielt daher eine wichtige Rolle bei der Dekarbonisierung und kann dazu beitragen, den Übergang zu emissionsarmen und zirkulären Geschäftslösungen zu beschleunigen, indem er neue Möglichkeiten bei der Energieerzeugung schafft, die Verkehrsemissionen reduziert und naturbasierte Lösungen in die touristischen Aktivitäten und Abläufe integriert. Wenn der Sektor schnell von kohlenstoff- und materialintensiven Methoden zur Bereitstellung von Besuchererlebnissen abrückt und sich an neue nachhaltige Tourismustrends und Umweltrisiken anpasst, wenn das Wohlergehen von Gemeinschaften und Ökosystemen Vorrang hat, dann kann der Tourismus eine führende Rolle beim Übergang zu einer kohlenstoffarmen und nachhaltigen Zukunft spielen.

SAVE THE DATE

In diesem Zusammenhang wird die Konferenz am 26. und 27. Oktober 2022 von UNEP und TourCert mit Unterstützung der deutschen Bundesregierung im Rahmen des Projekts „Transforming Tourism Value Chains in Developing Countries and SIDS to accelerate more resource efficient, low carbon development“ und der Austrian Development Agency im Rahmen des Projekts „Transforming Tourism“ – Protecting biodiversity and increasing local value creation by promoting sustainable tourism development in the Dominican Republic and Costa Rica“ veranstaltet.

Die Konferenz bietet Expert*innen und Führungskräften aus dem öffentlichen und privaten Sektor sowie anderen relevanten Stakeholdern die Möglichkeit, sich über Trends, Chancen und Herausforderungen in Tourismusdestinationen zu informieren, bewährte Praktiken auszutauschen und Prioritäten zur Förderung des nachhaltigen Tourismus in einem sich wandelnden Umfeld zu setzen. Die Konferenz bietet auch die Gelegenheit, bestehende Partnerschaften zu stärken, neue aufzubauen und persönliche Kontakte zu knüpfen.

Im Anschluss an die zweitägige Konferenz findet am 28. und 29. Oktober 2022 eine „After Conference Tour“ nach Samanà, einer der Projektregionen, statt, um erfolgreiche Praktiken des nachhaltigen Tourismus vorzustellen.

Ein Strand in der dominikanischen Republik mit Palmenblätter

Zu behandelnde Themen

Die Konferenz wird sich auf fünf Hauptthemen konzentrieren:

  • Governance von Reisezielen:
    Erforschung sektorübergreifender Multi-Level-Transformations- und Governance-Ansätze, die dazu führen, dass Reiseziele in Harmonie mit der Natur leben, wovon Einwohner*innen, Unternehmen der Wertschöpfungskette, die Gemeinschaft und Reisende profitieren.
  • Finanzen:
    Ermittlung potenzieller Finanzierungsquellen und damit zusammenhängender Marketing- und Anreizprogramme sowie Erkundung innovativer Finanzierungsmechanismen, um die Finanzierung des Sektors, auch für KMUs, zu erhöhen.
  • Nachhaltige Lebensmittelsysteme:
    Darstellung nachhaltiger Lebensmittelsysteme, einschließlich der Gastronomie als Katalysator für die Entwicklung nachhaltiger Wertschöpfungsketten und Erforschung der Kreislaufwirtschaft, nachhaltiger Beschaffungskonzepte zur Optimierung der Ressourcennutzung und zum Aufbau und Schutz von Human- und Sozialkapital.
  • Verknüpfung von Biodiversität, Klimawandel und Umweltverschmutzung:
    Erörterung der Ausrichtung des Tourismus auf Klima-, Biodiversitäts- und Umweltverschmutzungsstrategien, bewährte Verfahren zur Berechnung von Methoden, Instrumente, Standards und Zertifizierungsmechanismen zur Unterstützung von Tourismusakteur*innen bei der Umsetzung wirksamer Biodiversitäts- und Klimamaßnahmen auf einem umweltfreundlichen Planeten.
  • Niemanden zurücklassen:
    Aufzeigen des Beitrags des Tourismus zum Wohlstand und zur Eingliederung benachteiligter Gruppen sowie Erörterung geschlechtergerechter und menschenrechtsorientierter Maßnahmen im Tourismus, Stärkung der Gemeinden und Möglichkeiten des Kapazitätsaufbaus auf lokaler Ebene sowie Unterstützung von Wachstum und Nachhaltigkeit von Kleinstunternehmen.

 

Innovation und Digitalisierung werden als Querschnittsthemen in allen Themenbereichen betrachtet.

Sie haben noch Fragen?

Wir helfen Ihnen gerne bei Ihren Fragen weiter. Melden Sie sich einfach bei uns.

Vivien Multrus

Junior Project Managerin

vivien.multrus@tourcert.org

+49 711 24839726

esende